The Missoula Osprey scored five runs in the top of the first inning, and four pitchers combined on a five-hit shutout in a 10-0 win over the Ogden Raptors that gave the Osprey their first Pioneer League title since the 2006 season, winning the Best-of-3 series, 2-1.The Osprey, playing in their third winner-take-all game in eight days, scored five times in the top of the first inning, highlighted by a two-run single by Socrates Brito and a two-run double by Breland Almadova, off of Ogden starter Ross Stripling (0-1), and were not threatened after that.

The Osprey won their third championship, winning previously in the 1999 and 2006 seasons. It's the second time Missoula has won the clinching game on the road.


More From Newstalk KGVO 1290 AM & 98.3 FM