Social Studies teacher at Bonner School, Dylan Huisken, has been named the 2019 Montana Teacher of the Year, in a special ceremony at the school on Friday morning.

Montana Superintendent of Public Instruction, Elsie Arntzen was on hand to present the award to Huisken.

The process of being named Teacher of the Year is rigorous and competitive. Three finalists were selected by members of the Board of Education, Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education, the Montana Farm Bureau and one teacher.

There were three finalists, including Huisken, along with Linda Rost of Baker and Matt Schrowe of Red Lodge. The final selection committee was made up of representatives from the Montana PTA, the Montana Chamber of Commerce, The Montana Advisory Council on Indian Education, the legislature, and the Offices of the Governor, Attorney General, and Montana’s senior U.S. Senator. It also included a student representative.

Superintendent Arntzen said Huisken will represent Montana well in the competition for National Teacher of the Year, an award that has never been won by a Montana teacher.


More From Newstalk KGVO 1290 AM & 98.3 FM