Just after the polls closed at 8 pm Tuesday night, Missoula County Clerk and Recorder Vicki Zeier handed out the first results in the Missoula County 2012 primary election. In Missoula County there were 14,230 absentee votes cast, with 57% of those by Democrats and 42% by Republicans.

The most-watched races on the Democrat ballot.. for the U. S. House of Representatives, Dave Strohmaier had 42% of the vote in Missoula County, with Kim Gillan, Franke Wilmer and Diane Smith trailing. In the County Commissioner race, incumbent Jean Curtiss easily outpolled Lisa Triepke and Larry Claric with 66% of the Missoula County absentee vote.

On the Republican side, for Governor..Rick Hill was far ahead with 44% of the Missoula County vote, followed by Corey Stapelton with 20% and Ken Miller with 12%. Secretary of State...Brad Johnson had 52% and Patty Lovaas had 20%. Attorney General, Tim Fox with 52% and Jim Shockley with 47%. Get full details on the Montana Secretary of State website, linked here.

Comments from County Commissioner Jean Curtiss and Missoula County Clerk and Recorder Vicki Zeier can be heard by clicking below.