Contact Us

President Obama Issues Disaster Declaration for Montana, FEMA to Handle Flooding Issues in Multpile Counties

Montana Flooding
Photo courtesy of Collin Allen/Flickr

Sections of Montana that had been damaged by flooding were officially declared to be disaster areas on June 10 by President Barack Obama.

“A major disaster was declared at the request of the governor for what we call our public assistance program,” said External Affairs Officer with FEMA, Ricardo Zuniga. “The public assistance program provides grants to state, local, and tribal governments to assist them with the response and recovery from disasters.”

Depending on how Montana’s Disaster management plan is written, other areas of Montana may see aid from FEMA as well.

“It provides assistance though debris removal, emergency protective measures, and actually the permanent restoration of infrastructure,” said Ricardo. “In addition to those programs, hazard mitigation has been approved state wide, so not only the 12 counties and three tribes that were effected in this disaster, but actually all Montanans may see some benefit.”

Zuniga says that public meetings will be held and that FEMA usually takes about two months to complete the process of analyzing what areas need help and then allocating the proper funds.

Ricardo Zuniga

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Best of News Talk KGVO

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KGVO Club VIP quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KGVO Club VIP contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.