Contact Us

Grant Money To Help Mental Health Needs For Missoula Students [AUDIO]


Missoula County Public Schools received a $393,000 grant  from the U.S. Department of Education that will be used to support the implementation of the Montana Behavioral Initiative into 4 of the schools. The money will be used to create behavioral and prevention programs to better assist disadvantaged students across the district. The schools targeted are Lowell, Hawthorne, Franklin elementaries, and C.S. Porter Middle School. These schools serve some of the highest numbers of disadvantaged students in the district. Response to Intervention Specialist for the district, Carol Ewen describes how the money will be used to help the students.


Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

In addition, the grant will allow school and agency mental health professionals to be trained to deliver Cognitive Behavior therapy to assist students experiencing intensive emotional and behavioral difficulties, and tie these intervention plans into existing school-wide systems of support. Through this grant, educators will help students understand school expectations, how to cope with stress and emotions, and how to problem solve. Mental health professionals will extend lessons for students with additional needs and will reinforce appropriate behavior.

Best of News Talk KGVO

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KGVO Club VIP quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KGVO Club VIP contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.